Connect with us


Alwar and Gorakhpur Lok Sabha Election Result 2019 LIVE updates: Balak Nath and Ravi Kishan leading 62.6% votes at 2:19 PM



Alwar Lok Sabha Constituency

Constituency number: 8

Total electors: 16,28,067

Female electors: 7,56,728

Male electors: 8,71,339

Reserved: No

Delimited: Yes. Thanagazi Assembly segment was moved to Dausa Lok Sabha constituency in 2008. Alwar Rural and Alwar Urban were created post-delimitation. Khairthal Assembly segment was dissolved. Ramgarh constituency was moved from Bharatpur Lok Sabha seat. The rajgarh-laxmangarh segment was carved out in 2008.

Assembly constituencies: Tijara, Kishangarh Bas, Mundawar, Behror, Alwar Rural (SC), Alwar Urban, Ramgarh, Rajgarh – Laxmangarh (ST)

Results in last four Lok Sabha elections: BJP leader Jaswant Singh Yadav won the seat in 1999. In 2004, Congress leader Karan Singh Yadav clinched the seat and was succeeded by Congress candidate Jitendra Singh in 2009. However, Jitendra lost to BJP leader Chand Nath in 2014.

Demographics: It is spread across parts of Alwar district. Yadavs are a key caste community in Alwar. They account for nearly 4 percent of the electorate in the constituency. It is also home to nearly 3 lakh Meo Muslims. This is also the constituency where Pehlu Khan’s lynching took place.

Gorakhpur Lok Sabha Election Result 2019 LIVE updates: Ravi Kishan from BJP is leading with 60.2% votes at 2:05 PM

BJP Ravindra Shyamnarayan Shukla Urf Ravi Kishan 387,098 Votes 60% Votes
SP Rambhual Nishad 226,332 Votes 35% Votes
INC Madhusudan Tripathi 13,293 Votes 2% Votes
CPI Dr. Ashish Kumar Singh 4,379 Votes 1% Votes
NOTA Nota 4,334 Votes 1% Votes
SBSP Abhishek Chand 2,485 Votes 0% Votes
PSP(L) Shyamnarayan Yadav 1,502 Votes 0% Votes
SCP(I) Subhash Chandra Dubey 1,074 Votes 0% Votes
JWD Jitendra Kumar 843 Votes 0% Votes
SHF Awadhesh Kumar Singh 743 Votes 0% Votes
RPOI Jai Prakash Mishra 715 Votes 0% Votes

Gorakhpur Lok Sabha Constituency 

Constituency number: 64

Total electors: 19,04,498 (2014 estimates)

Female electors: 8,49,022

Male electors: 10,55,476

Reserved: No

Delimited: No

Assembly Constituencies: Caimpiyarganj, Pipraich, Gorakhpur Urban, Gorakhpur Rural, Sahajanwa

Results in last four Lok Sabha elections: This is a Hindutva bastion, having elected firebrand BJP leader and now Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath between 1998 and 2014. Adityanath remained the MP from Gorakhpur till he became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh in March 2017. However, in an electoral upset, Praveen Kumar Nishad of the Samajwadi Party wrested the seat from the BJP in the 2018 bypolls.

Demographics: Out of nearly 19 lakh voters in Gorakhpur, Nishads and Mallahs, constitute nearly 23 percent of the voters. The next biggest chunk of voters are 3.5 lakh Muslims that make for nearly 18 percent voters. Dalits together make up the third biggest chunk. This demographic reality has however been overpowered by the influence of the Gorakh Mutt, which cuts across caste lines in Gorakhpur.