Connect with us


Why Rahul Gandhi chose Kerala’s Wayanad Loksabha Seat?

With the aim of strengthening the party’s position in South India, Rahul has chosen Wayanad LokSabha seat for Congress.



Kerala Wayanad Seat

Congress President Rahul Gandhi will contest the Lok Sabha from two places Kerala’s Wayanad and Uttar Pradesh’s Wayanad. Rahul will also contest the election from the Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency of Kerala with his traditional seat of Amethi in Uttar Pradesh. With the aim of strengthening the party’s position in South India, Rahul has chosen Wayanad LokSabha seat for Congress. Geographically the Wayanad seat is connected in three states of the south, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka. Congress has been consistently occupying this seat.

Announcing the confirmation, former Defense Minister and senior Congress leader AK Antony and Congress spokesperson Randeep Surjewala said that party workers of South India were constantly demanding that Rahul Gandhi should contest from Wayanad seat. Rahul Gandhi has accepted the demand of the workers. Now he will contest from the Wayanad seat of Kerala in addition to Amethi.

The traditions of South India are being attacked by the Modi government. Rahul Gandhi will contest from this seat and represent three states Kerala, Tamil Nadu, and Karnataka.

Mr. Randeep Surjewala further said that Rahul Ji has always said that Amethi is his workplace. His relationship with Amethi belongs to the family member. So, he can not leave Amethi.

Hitting the BJP candidate Smriti Irani, Surjewala said that this time he will put a hat-trick of defeat. Smriti Irani first defeated New Delhi, the second time from Amethi and now for the third time will she will lose from Amethi.

What is the History of Kerala’s Wayanad Lok sabha Seat?

After the delimitation in 2008, Wayanad seat came into existence. Under this Lok Sabha seat, there are seven Assembly seats in Kozhikode, Wayanad, and Malappuram in three districts of Kerala. In the 2009 and 2014 elections, this seat was won by the Congress of M.Y Shanawas.

There was a tough fight between the Congress and the CPI in the 2014 General election. Congress’s MN Shanawas defeated the CPI candidate PR Satyan Muker with 20,870 votes. However, Shanavas died in November 2018. Since then this seat is empty. This time CPI has given the ticket to PP Suner from this constituency.

Abhishek Lohia is the Sports and Political Writer at News 21 Chaupal. He spent 2 years as a Digital journalist and last worked with the Newsfolo. He has graduated in B.E from Abdul Kalam University and is a product of the National Institute of Mass Communication, Delhi. He is passionate about work, travelling and food, in that order. His areas of specialisation include politics as well as policy spheres like rural affairs, Aadhaar and other welfare mechanisms of the government. He can be reached on the email id: and you can follow him on Twitter @Chiraglohia2